Papped!

13 Oct

I had the privilege to attend the opening of a lovely new wool shop in Bath called, err, Wool. What else?!

The owner, Laura Bartlett, is absolutely delightful, and we are already hatching plans for how we might work together in the future – watch this space!

Looking a bit sheepish with Mike and Jen! (c) The Knitter

I went along at the kind invitation of some good friends – Jen Arnall-Culliford, the brilliant technical editor of The Knitter, and Deborah Bradley, the equally genius editor of Simply Knitting.

We had a great natter with Mike Cole, chairman of the UK Hand Knitting Association, and I came away with a gorgeous skein of deep fuschia Scrumptious DK (a loosely spun single ply silk/merino blend) which I couldn’t put down once I’d picked it up. It’s on the shelf between me and Mike in the picture – see? It had to be mine!

Scrumptious is one of the many fabulous yarns created by indie dyer Jeni of Fyberspates, an extremely talented lady who I’ve interviewed for The Knitter and bumped into at Wonderwool and Knit Nation earlier this year. Go buy her yarn!

I even managed a glass of fizz before I had to run for my train. A lovely evening.

Leave a Reply

