A simple plan

9 Feb

I love this dress. It took me one evening to make – can’t say fairer than that!

It’s a Simplicity pattern I think, which I modified to make a little longer than knee length – as I like my dresses either dead short to wear with leggings and biker boots, or below knee to wear all ladylike with Mary Janes.

It’s made from some utterly gorgeous leaf printed ultra-fine merino which my aunt, a now retired fashion designer, found in Italy, but never got around to using – goodness only knows how old it is.

Anyway, she gave to my mum aeons ago, and mum then passed it onto me in a big clear out – I got lots of goodies, including a huge box of vintage thread (on lovely wooden spools) which was my Nana’a and lots of silk and fine wool from my aunt – nom.

So, the pattern was about four quid, the fabric was free, and the dress just needed some fusible web, which I had in my stash, and a matching button. I made one from a pack of vintage buttons – the kind you can cover, which I’d found at a craft fair.

It’s very light and needs a slip underneath, although it’s not as see through as the image suggests! The first time I wore it was Christmas Day last year, which included a sledging session (minus Mary Janes :D) and a lot of posh dinner. It performed admirably!

Please excuse the slightly rubbish pic btw – my Lady Valet dressform (from the brilliantly helpful, friendly and cheap Hobkirk’s) sits in the darkest corner of my bedroom, so the light is low and I took these without a tripod.

Leave a Reply

