Marco: The Knitter, and a very good week…

18 Feb

Today I got my contributor’s copy of The Knitter. Issue 29 will always be special for me because it’s the first time a design of mine has been chosen as the main front cover garment on any publication.

Marco is a laceweight tunic with a dropped stitch pattern, and is a top down raglan construction, so you can try it on as you make it.ย I knitted the sample myself and there were a lot of late nights finishing it off before Christmas, but to see it now, it was all worth it!

The timing of the cover is doubly sweet as this week I found out I am going to be the magazine’s new deputy editor. It is literally my dream job and I am still pinching myself!

At the risk of sounding like some puffed up buffoon giving an acceptance speech, I also want to say in this post, an enormous thank you to all my knitting, stitching and crafty friends. You’ve taught me so much and become a massive part of my life. I absolutely wouldn’t be here without you!

I’ll be starting on The Knitter in late March, just in time for theย Stitch and Craft show which is a event I’ve not been to before. I’m really looking forward to going and making lots of new knitting, stitching and crafty friends too. So if you’re at Olympia that weekend and you see a woman with bright red hair on the Simply Knitting/ The Knitter stand grinning from ear to ear and looking like she can’t believe her luck, that will be me – come and say hi!

All photos copyright of The Knitter.

5 Responses to “Marco: The Knitter, and a very good week…”

  1. Shani Phethean-Hubble February 18, 2011 at 9:32 am #

    You are one very talented person and I am thrilled for you… this is so amazing, both the pattern and the job.
    Well done. hugs Shani

  2. katt94 February 18, 2011 at 3:38 pm #

    Congratulations Rosee.

    • nimblefingersandsteadyeyebrows February 20, 2011 at 8:49 pm #

      Hey, congratulations! That’s a really fantastic job, well done you. I’ve just taken out a subscription so I’ll look forward to seeing your patterns and more. Laura x

  3. Kyoko February 20, 2011 at 10:20 pm #

    Hi Rosee,
    Congratulations! That is wonderful ๐Ÿ˜€
    I love the garment, Marco. It is so beautiful and cleverly designed. Wanna knit one for myself! ๐Ÿ˜‰
    I might see you in Olympia ๐Ÿ˜€
    x
    Kyoko

  4. Rosee Woodland February 21, 2011 at 6:56 pm #

    Thanks for your lovely comments ladies!

    Kyoko – I totally heart Cotton and Cloud – I’ll definitely look forward to meeting you at Olympia. And congrats on your own pattern for the Miranda bag being published too xx

Leave a Reply

