Weather to dye for…

23 Apr

Excuse the terrible pun, but when the sun is shining this much it often makes me want to get my yarn dyes out. The heat makes getting soaking wet wool dry a much easier task!
IMG_2692
This time I had a go at kettle-dyeing with some organic merino 4ply from Yarnundyed whose owner sent some samples into us at The Knitter to play with. That’s on the left in this picture.

On the right is a fairly high twist laceweight angora merino blend, which I got from the lovely Jeni of Fyberspates at Wonderwool.

I normally get my white yarn from the excellent Bluefaced.com so it’s been interesting to have a go with some new things. The organic yarn had a lovely texture and bloom after colouring, while the laceweight took the deep red particularly well.

I’d bought a large amount of the laceweight from Jeni, thinking I’d use it when I teach a dyeing class at Get Knitted in September so I’m pleased with the results, and I’m keen to try some more from Yarnundyed too.

During the class we’ll be creating custom-dyed self-striping sock and semi-solid laceweight yarns, and experimenting with all sorts of other yarns too, so if you fancy having a go at dyeing you can sign up now!

Leave a Reply

