Bustin’ that stash

5 May

I’ve been away for a few days having a much needed break with friends in Dorset. As usual, I took way too many craft projects with me, including this one, and this one, but ended up not doing a lot in favour of finding bits of dead crab on the beach with the little one. Nice.

The yarn for both holiday projects is from the earlyish days of my knitting revival – I bought all of it about three or four years ago. It was the time when I would buy scratchy pure wool to make knee high socks, and a cashmere blend yarn to make a toddler’s coat in moss stitch. Haha. Funny how those never worked out.

After a long wait while I pondered the error of my ways, both yarns have finally found better homes now, the first as part of a stash busting giant granny square blanket…
IMG_2876

…and the second as a lovely ruched yoke top from the spring issue of Interweave Knits. Both projects have at least doubled in size since I took these pics.

IMG_2852

Before we went away I also found time to finish my Damask shawl and block it properly – I’ll be putting a step by step post about this on The Knitter blog soonish.

IMG_2825

The royal wedding was fun.  We went to the beach in the morning (evidence below) and were the only ones bar a handful of dog walkers. We rushed back in time to see The Dress, which was lovely, and yes, like Princess Grace, but no, not at all like the Queen’s – clearly the commentators need their eyes checked!

And hurrah for her choosing McQueen. Dare I say it, but jolly good show! I’ll have some more design stuff to tell you about soon. And quilting too. Yay!

Leave a Reply

