Giant crochet granny square blanket. Cosy!

27 Jun

So, yesterday was pretty darn hot, but I was beavering away on some new designs which are going in the next few issues of The Knitter.

What I really wanted to be working on though, was my giant granny square blanket.
IMG_4121

Of course, I luuuurve knitting, but crochet has got me increasingly hooked (ahem, sorry) recently. There’s something about the granny square, which, a little like knitting in the round, is terribly addictive.

So far my mini blanket is pram sized, but when I’m finished it’s going to cover our living room sofa. Which is no mean feat.

If you fancy having a go, I teach learn to crochet classes at The Makery, usually about once a month. We make our own mini granny square to top a pretty pin cushion.

PC5

Once you’ve got the crochet basics you should be able to progress to pretty much anything. But if you’ve made one granny square I guarantee you’ll want to make another.

Happy hooking!

6 Responses to “Giant crochet granny square blanket. Cosy!”

  1. Rin June 27, 2011 at 2:01 pm #

    Looking great! Love the colours. I have a question though – how do you know how much yarn you’ll need to do each layer? I’d love to do a big blanket like that with all my odds and ends of left over yarn, but I’m never sure whether each ball of scrap will stretch far enough.

    • Rosee Woodland June 27, 2011 at 9:13 pm #

      Thanks for the lovely comments about the blanket everyone. It is a great project for when you want to ‘disengage brain’.

      Rin, to answer about quantity, I don’t know how much yarn it’s going to need. I’m just keeping going! Every now and then I weigh a ball before and after a stripe and see how much yarn it took. This lets me know whether I can probably get another stripe out of the same ball. Two stripes are currently taking about 30g of yarn, so I’ll have to go down to single stripes pretty soon!

      You do need decent electronic scales for this – Argos do them for about a tenner). But when the stripes get really long you could always change colour half way through a stripe, which would give a nifty log cabin effect.

  2. Morag Duller June 27, 2011 at 2:39 pm #

    This makes me want to get out my crochet hooks again – only I have a shrug to try and finish in case I need to wear it at 2 weddings we are going to in the next 2 weeks!

  3. DyeVerse June 27, 2011 at 6:18 pm #

    I love crochet and think it is totally underrated as a past time… thanks for the inspiration…

    Brilliant…
    hugs
    Shani

  4. birdface June 30, 2011 at 9:04 am #

    this is looking turbo-ace – i have some serious crochet envy right now…
    LOVE the colours. that yellow really pops!

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. How long is a piece of string? Aka, how much yarn do I need for a crochet granny square? « Nana taught me how - August 17, 2011

    […] giant granny square is now so big it takes 30g per double stripe. Pretty soon I’ll have to switch to single […]

Leave a Reply

