New pencil skirt love

12 Jul

I’ve been invited to a Suburban Bohemia party. Yay!

Our delightful hostess is urging us to release our inner ‘Mad Men housewife or Andy Warhol groupie’.  Well, in honour of Joan Holloway and Betty Draper it would be rude not to bust out a wiggle skirt, wouldn’t it?

I was originally going to wear a peacock blue silk dress I’d been making for the party, but then I realised it might be a little warm for that, so I’ve made a pencil skirt instead, in a black cherry print, which I can wear with short or long sleeves, depending on the weather.

The fabric was a steal on ebay (this link goes to the white fabric – the black isn’t on there at the mo) – about £12 I think, and the dark grey silk lining is from the awesome stash of goodies my (retired) fashion designer aunt gave to my mum, who then passed them onto me.

IMG_4291
I resized the sewing pattern to add some width (yeah, thanks cake), and also, about 10cm/ 4in in length, as I’m 5ft 10in, and patterns are usually far too short for me.

If I’d had more than 1.5m of fabric I’d have made it even longer, but as it was I only just squeezed all the pattern pieces on – you need four waistband pieces to double up, which is what eats up the extra space.

IMG_4292
I should have made a toile first, as actually, the resizing I did made it too wide, and I had to take it back in again. I’ve got relatively narrow hips so I always find I have flappy bits at the side (that sounds wrong) which need taking in, if I stick to standard sizing when I’m sewing.

IMG_4299
I also tweaked the pattern to add a row of four buttons on the waistband, rather than a zip all the way up the back, and I’m going to add some lace around the bottom edge, on the inside, so that it just peeps out. The sauce.

IMG_4311
ANYWAY. Here it is. And I love it! Almost as much as going to fabulous parties. But not quite.

IMG_4325

3 Responses to “New pencil skirt love”

  1. Jan Marriott July 12, 2011 at 3:58 pm #

    adorable…and your pattern drafting skills are awesome.

    • Rosee Woodland July 12, 2011 at 9:00 pm #

      Why thank you! I did enjoy making it, but swanning around drinking cocktails while wearing it will be even better 😉

  2. Elle July 13, 2011 at 8:14 am #

    Gorgeous! I love the fabric 😀 I’m planning to get a sewing machine soon so I can learn to make my own clothes 😀

Leave a Reply

