A few of my favourite things…pt 3

18 Jul

IMG_4069

(1) A murano glass vase from Venice. I always wanted to go to Venice, and somehow I managed it before the age of 30. This vase was from a reject shelf in a glass factory on Murano. It was all I could afford at the time, and the millefiori adorning it are all mis-shapen and wonkaloid, but it’s still very beautiful. As was Venice. What an amazing place.

IMG_4232

(2) Shells from the beach. When I was a kid I was obsessed with four things; making stuff, dressing up, shells, and dinosaurs. The last two have fallen by the way side now I’m an ‘adult’ but I’ve still got a few of te shells I collected. I picked up this fan shell on a Norfolk beach when I went to visit my mum’s dad when I was about six. I only met him a few times. He was a pretty interesting guy – kind of a mad inventor. He once built a house boat by bolting a caravan to a bunch of wooden pallets, and sailed it around the Norfolk Broads. But we can talk about that another day.

IMG_4221

(3) My husband’s cousin gave me this little cross stitch when we got married. She was only about 10 at the time so it must have felt like a lot of work to her. It’s the first item I ever had with my married name on it and it was such a sweet thing for her to do. We also had a wedding list at Bristol Guild and were given some really lovely gifts for our home, but this is pretty much my favourite.

So, I think that’s all for my series of favourite things. Parts One and Two are here if you’d like to see them.

Funny how just a few possessions (11 by my count) end up being the things that really matter. Sure, there are others that I care about. But even with the baby trinkets and photos the sum total would  fit in a suitcase. And I like that.

One Response to “A few of my favourite things…pt 3”

  1. Jan Marriott July 18, 2011 at 2:10 pm #

    darling post, has given me something to think about

Leave a Reply

