Felt badge making. Literally hearting it.

29 Jul

IMG_4437

Working for the lovely peeps at The Makery is truly ace.

Not only do I get to dream up classes to teach even more people how to knit, crochet and sew (hurrah!) I also get to hang out at The Makery workshop in Bath. It’s a truly delightful space, with shelves overflowing with fabric, ribbon, buttons and felt.

But sometimes I need to talk to The Makery’s owner Kate, quickly, so I pop into The Makery Emporium instead, as it’s closer to the offices of The Knitter, where I have my ‘proper’ job.

Last week I swung by Bath’s best haberdashery to discuss a sewing workshop, and somehow left with three needle-felted hearts, and a mini square of thick grey organic felt too. Total cost £2.72 (with my tutor discount – yay!)

It was the perfect mini project. That evening I sat down with the husband, a big bowl of salty popcorn, and a good film, and by bedtime I had a new (giant) badge! I can’t really call it a brooch, as it’s not exactly ladylike in proportion…

IMG_4423

As well as my Makery goodies, I added a few cute buttons, and finished the edge with blanket stitch in some amazing handspun wool I bought from Two Sisters Stringworks on Etsy.

OK, it didn’t exactly reduce my burgeoning to-do list, but a quick easy project was just the treat I needed before wading back in to the ol’ pattern spreadsheets. Happy times!

2 Responses to “Felt badge making. Literally hearting it.”

  1. Shani Phethean-Hubble July 29, 2011 at 10:18 am #

    Wow I love these… I have just discovered the flexibility of felting…!

    Best wishes
    Shani

  2. Anna July 30, 2011 at 8:56 pm #

    Love it ! xxx

Leave a Reply

