Teaching knitting and crochet at The Makery

8 Aug

p20110807-123935

It’s about a year since I began teaching at The Makery in Bath.

A lot has changed in a year.

I started there as a tutor for fun sewing classes, mostly for hen parties.

I never graduated to leading the nipple tassel class (secretly relieved about that one..), but after many a Saturday afternoon keeping a watchful eye on ladies enjoying some Bucks Fizz and operating sewing machines (never simultaneously, I promise!) I can make a saucy garter in about 5 minutes.

Should the need arise.

In my time at The Makery I’ve also taught a lot of jewellery classes, and sent lots of hens on their way with divine fascinators to wear on the bride’s big day.

These days, though, I mostly teach knitting and crochet. I do love sewing. But it’s sticks and string that I feel the most comfortable with.

My classes cover the basics of knitting and crochet, and these are the most popular. But I also run knitting finishing techniques classes, which are great fun, and really collaborative.

If you’d like to find out more about all the amazing classes on offer from all the other delightful tutors at The Makery, do check out the full Makery workshop calendar here.

2 Responses to “Teaching knitting and crochet at The Makery”

  1. Shani Phethean-Hubble August 8, 2011 at 9:05 am #

    Inspiring… and everyone looks so industrious !!!

    well done… oh and the nipple tassle – any chance of writing the pattern? !!

    Best wishes
    Shani

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. How long is a piece of string? Aka, how much yarn do I need for a crochet granny square? « Nana taught me how - August 17, 2011

    […] is, there is no easy answer. But what’s most important to remember is that, if you make a simple granny square, each round will take more yarn than the […]

Leave a Reply

