How to grow tomatoes: Tomato joy!

18 Aug

A little while ago I wrote about how to grow tomatoes.

p20110817-072325

This summer it seems to be working – hurrah! Although, doesn’t it just feel like you’re watering them all the time?!

Plus, there are a LOT of spider webs to be circumnavigated to pick these babies.

p20110817-072422

While I’m here, our new toaster appears to have a face. Just sayin’…

p20110817-072218

4 Responses to “How to grow tomatoes: Tomato joy!”

  1. Emad August 18, 2011 at 9:03 am #

    Nice photos !

  2. Mim August 18, 2011 at 11:48 am #

    A good assortment of colours there! All I’ve had so far are ones out of the hanging baskets, the larger tomatoes in pots haven’t done much. Lots of green tomato chutney ahead, I fear…

  3. Rosee Woodland August 18, 2011 at 3:15 pm #

    If you bring them in when the weather cools they will ripen at room temperature – this is what we did last year as we had so many green ones and a good store of chutney already.
    I’m growing 5 different varieties this summer. The yellow plums were the happiest plant, first to ripen and are by far my favourite, both sweet and fresh – I pick them when they’re not quite ripe to avoid them falling on the ground overnight and getting munched!
    The cherry reds and standard toms are also ripening and pretty good. Two beefeater plants have giant fruits that are still totally green, and I also have a still green, rather sickly mystery variety (from a front garden plant sale) and Green Zebras (a vintage species). The trouble with the Green Zebras is that I can’t tell if they’re ripe or not!

  4. cpeezers August 23, 2011 at 2:36 am #

    Your tomatoes look wonderful, and I am getting ready to go read on growing them! I’d like to do that next summer. I came upon your blog because you’d posted about the beekeeper’s quilt which has taken the knitting world by storm! I recently started mine as well!

Leave a Reply

