Works in progress. A WIP confession

19 Aug

Every now and then someone says to me something like: “I don’t know how you fit it all in.”

Which is very flattering, but always gives me a bit of a giggle.

Because from the outside, I may look like I’m getting loads done. But actually, for every finished project that makes it onto this blog, or Ravelry, there are about a dozen in stasis.

Here is my confessional of unfinished objects, a list as long as well, this…

IMG_4753

A rabbit in snowflake yarn, still in pieces. A request from Storm. Well, she can have it for Christmas!

IMG_4796

A blue dress for Storm – 5 inches knitted.

Another blue dress for Storm – fabric cut out.

Primrose tee shirt for Storm – still in pieces.

IMG_1854

Unfinished cross stitch.

Unframed embroidery.

Hearts banner which needs sewing onto ribbon.

Cardigan for a friend’s little boy. In progress so long it’ll have to go to his younger brother, although I’ve done about twice as much as is in this pic!

Cardigan for me.

Mad frayed jumper for me.

IMG_4112

Blanket 1 – giant stripey granny square.

IMG_4766

Blanket 2 – natural granny squares.

IMG_4791

Blanket 3 – sock yarn hexipuffs

IMG_1849

A quilt for Storm (I have now pieced half of it, but it’s flipping huge!)

IMG_2965

Shawl I probably need to start again due to many dumbass mistakes of utter foolishness.

IMG_8611

Sock I knitted 2 years ago which still needs a partner.

CIMG5776

Ditto, a mitten I knitted 3 years ago!

Plus, oh, 5 unfinished designs for knitting patterns in various states of progress and swatches for the next season.

I’m writing this at 1am. Now you know why…

6 Responses to “Works in progress. A WIP confession”

  1. Yuuna (優菜) August 19, 2011 at 2:48 pm #

    I dread to think about just how many unfinished works I have scattered all over my apartment. I should take a tally of them some day and make a genuine attempt to finish them instead of just putting them aside and starting something new.

    I love the picture of the blue shawl, by the way. The colour’s beautiful, and I like the way that the circular needle turns the shape of it into a heart! It’s a very artistic photo!

    • Rosee Woodland August 19, 2011 at 4:07 pm #

      I realise now, that this isn’t all of my WIPs! Ah well!

      The shawl is gorgeous (Wollmeise 100% Merino sock) but hard going – lace on both sides etc. Taking the photo was fun. Ripping out rows (again and again) was not!

      • Martha August 31, 2012 at 1:20 pm #

        May I ask, what’s the title of that book with this pretty folky sampler?
        I collect books with samplers!
        Your projects look fab!
        You’re surely talented!

      • Rosee Woodland September 26, 2012 at 7:55 pm #

        It’s Alicia Paulson’s The Embroidery Companion, and it really is worth getting.

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Daisychain Sampler: Ambitious embroidery « Nana taught me how - January 30, 2012

    […] to stitch a letter a week I think. Let’s see how that goes! Just ignore my track record on unfinished objects please. […]

  2. Quilting, the easy way. Part One. « Nana taught me how - February 9, 2012

    […] My second (kingsize) quilt is currently hibernating – it’s so big  it’s tricky to find the space to work on it. But, hey, why finish a project when you can start another? You know what I’m talking about. […]

Leave a Reply

