Designer profile: Sarah Hatton

26 Aug

A slight twist on Fabulous Pattern Friday this week.

Last week I wrote my weekly FPF post for The Knitter, about Sarah Hatton’s fabulous Classic Cardigan and I was going to do a similar version here, but I felt like that wouldn’t be doing her justice.

So here are my top 5 favourite SH patterns. Drumroll please!

Classic cardigan/ SarahHatton.com

This is from Sarah’s website, which she launched after going freelance. Don’t you just dig that fabric trim?

Honeysuckle/ Rowan 45

via knitrowan.com

Honeysuckle is also available in The Knitter, issue 7 and it’s my personal favourite, knitted in Rowan Kidsilk Haze. If you’re going to make it, it’s worth considering knitting it in the round rather than flat, to avoid having to seam it.

Wallis/ Rowan 38

Wallis sweater

Batwings rock. don’t they? This one has a simple lace pattern and a great drape. Thanks to JadeBlade for letting me use her fab pic.

Patti/ Rowan Studio 1

via knitrowan.com

How cute is this? It’s in Felted Tweed DK, which has got to be one of my favourite yarns ever. OK, those pleats mean a lot of fabric, ergo a LOT of knitting. But totally worth it. Plus, you can download the pattern for free from the Rowan website. Hurrah!

Embrace/ Rowan Studio 14

I love Fair Isle like you wouldn’t believe, and this is just perfect; reminiscent of all those 40s Fair Isle yoked twinsets, but with a totally modern shape. I couldn’t find a ‘free’ pic of this, so here’s a link to the loveliest version of it I’ve ever seen.

Which is your favourite Sarah Hatton design? Recommendations please!

2 Responses to “Designer profile: Sarah Hatton”

  1. Jen A-C August 26, 2011 at 10:02 am #

    That is a really tough question… At the moment it’s anything from Rowan Studio 24, but I’ve also fallen for a number of her older Studio designs since I got my mitts on a copy of Rowan Studio Knits – things like Lotte with the brilliant back vent/cable detail, or the stunning Vali dress, or the Lucille Kidsilk Haze cardi – I could go on and on! 🙂

  2. Jacqui August 30, 2011 at 10:54 am #

    The Lace Dress from Studio 17 – I love it and have had the yarn ready for a little while now. But I also love Bourne from Rowan 46. Yes – KSH is my drug of choice! And I love the 1st cardigan on your list, which I haven’t seen before 🙂

Leave a Reply

