Sock it to me! New design in The Knitter (part deux)

2 Sep

Sorry. Years in newspapers have left me a sucker for a pun.

ANYWAY, just a wee note to say I have another design in the new issue of The Knitter. Greedy I know! More to do with me missing a deadline for the previous issue than a desire to get two patterns in at once.

_DSC6714.jpg

The Thistle socks are knitted in Lorna’s Laces Shepherd Sock, and have a bold angular motif (adapted from a Hitomi Shida stitch pattern in Couture Knits 250) which should show up well even on heavily variegated sock yarn. They’re designed to be a bit more androgynous than your average sock, so I’ve included a big size if you fancy knitting them for your fella for Christmas (am I allowed to say the C word yet?).

_DSC6739.jpg

The design uses a twisted cable, which you can make without a cable needle, and the stitch pattern is pretty intuitive – I didn’t need a chart after the first repeat. So a good one for the bus/ train if you’re a commuter like me.

The pattern is mirrored across the left and right sock, which took a lot of brain hurty maths to figure out. I have a new found respect for Cookie A after designing these! (Although I always thought she was pretty great).

The new issue of The Knitter is out Monday. Just sayin’.

Have a great weekend.

_DSC6692.jpg

All pics are copyright of The Knitter.

One Response to “Sock it to me! New design in The Knitter (part deux)”

  1. Jacqui September 3, 2011 at 4:04 pm #

    Picked up my copy today – and noticed your socks as well as the cover pattern! Well done, and I really like the sock pattern – when my DH eventually gets his next pair of socks, these are on the list 🙂

Leave a Reply

