Totterdown Front Room – The Plan

5 Sep

OK, so last year I promised that I would get more involved with Totterdown Front Room in 2011.

I have been pondering it, but still unsure what I would do, when I bumped into an old acquaintance, who I had met on the art trail in 2009.

H is a truly community spirited individual, and had opened her house that year for knitting, tea and cakes, as well as a little crochet teaching.

I really enjoyed meeting her, but had failed miserably to follow it up, so I was very happy to see her again at the park, where she was planting lovely edibles  as part of a local gardening campaign. Like I said, she is a giver!

So we got talking and I said I’d been thinking about doing some kind of yarn bombing event for this year’s Front Room, inspired by Johanna’s knit graffiti I spotted last week.

Serendipity! She had registered her house to take part, but not formulated a plan. So now we have one (well loosely anyway).

The idea:

Base yarn bombing workshops, plus other crafty fun, at H’s house during Front Room weekend (usually late November).

Make a few expeditions out each day of the trail into  Totterdown to scatter our yarny goodness.

Fuel up in between with plenty of tea and cake (maybe with a donation to charity?)

Generally have a bit of a giggle, and continue to brighten up our lovely corner of Bristol.

Now that I have written it down, I HAVE to do it! No more excuses!

So my next question is – would you like to get involved? If so just leave me a comment or email me and I’ll make sure you’re kept up to speed.

I’m guessing there will be a mixture of pre-arranged ‘installations’ and cheeky street adornment, so if you know anyone who has a bike rack/ gate post etc which is looking in need of cheering up, please send me your nominations!

6 Responses to “Totterdown Front Room – The Plan”

  1. Rin Simpson September 5, 2011 at 11:45 am #

    Fab plan! Assuming I’m around on the weekend when it all goes down, I’ll definitely be up for getting involved.

  2. Birdface September 6, 2011 at 12:06 am #

    Ah-ha – see, I’m all pleased with myself as I have decided to NOT take part this year, as then I will be able to actually leave my house and bathe in the wonder of it all -YAY!!
    Would def be up for helping with yarn bombing – sounds amazatron! It would be so great to get Balmain St involved as I don’t think any of us will be opening up our houses this year now 😦

  3. hannah September 6, 2011 at 12:26 pm #

    great! it’s 18th-20th November here’s the website http://www.frontroom.org.uk/, I’ll just contact the art trail people so we can get more people involved – let’s have a meeting soon to plan it and have plenty of tea and cake! l

  4. Rin Simpson September 6, 2011 at 4:50 pm #

    Um, I should probably say, I don’t actually live in Totterdown myself… but I’d still love to help out if that’s allowed? I’m in Kingswood (definitely not known for its artiness or craftiness, but there are a few of us!). Otherwise, I may just come along and visit and see what everyone’s up to 🙂

  5. Rosee Woodland September 6, 2011 at 6:51 pm #

    The more the merrier I say!
    Hannah – email me & we’ll sort out a meet up re logistics. I have already procured some decent supplies.

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Totterdown’s Woolly Wonderland « Nana taught me how - September 19, 2011

    […] I posted about the TotterdownFront Room Art Trail last week, things have, err, gone a bit nutso round here! To say the idea to bring yarnbombing to […]

Leave a Reply

