Peerie Flooers: Hat obsession

30 Sep

It’s 1am and I should be in bed. But I can’t sleep. Because I have to knit my hat.

p20110929-074358

Yes, I realise it’s too hot to wear it, but that’s not the point. Last week I finally managed to find the time to write about Kate Davies marvellous Peerie Flooers hat for Fabulous Pattern Friday on The Knitter blog.

Then, having hit my design submission deadline for next season (more Fair Isle for next spring – hurrah!) and having also written a feature for the brand-new redesigned Simply Knitting magazine, I sat down, took a breath and cast on.

I started my version of Peerie Flooers on Monday night. Having been up to my eyeballs with work for some time, I’ve given myself the week off to knit it. Happily, if I keep going like this, I’ll be weaving in the ends by the weekend.

This hat has me OBSESSED. Kate previewed the design on her blog so I already knew I wanted to make it before she released the pattern a (thankfully) short while later.

I raided my stash of Jamieson and Smith Jumper Weight yarn, bought three balls of the delicious Rowan Fine Tweed the pattern calls for (3 quid each, last of the big spenders), and dived in. Happily I’ve been able to share out what I don’t need with some other knitting friends, so at last count there are 5 of us, all in the various stages of making it.

I’ve modified the pattern, by using cream instead of oatmeal for one of the background colours and working the red and blue flowers in two, tonal, shades to give them a bit more depth.

Meanwhile  61 other people are already knitting it on Ravelry, and more of my knitting friends are casting on as I type. Obsessed? I’m not the only one…

4 Responses to “Peerie Flooers: Hat obsession”

  1. Rhian September 30, 2011 at 9:52 am #

    Ha, I was knitting mine at 12.15 last night! It is scarily addictive…

  2. Jan Marriott September 30, 2011 at 3:16 pm #

    thanks for all those nice links

  3. granambition September 30, 2011 at 3:39 pm #

    o ! I think I need to copy you urgently! even though I am sweating with no hat.

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Peerie Flooers finished! And a little colouring in « Nana taught me how - October 6, 2011

    […] It took me six days in the end to knit my Peerie Flooers (Rav link) hat. I was, as I said earlier, pretty obsessed! […]

Leave a Reply

