The tiny breadmaker

17 Oct

Words fail me…

IMG_5516

Al and Storm, kneading 75/25 wholemeal/white, with the singular concentration of newly initiated breadmakers.

I’ve been making bread since I was 12, but the River Cottage bread handbook I gave Al for his birthday (plus 6kg of flour – oh, the romance) proves you can teach a (slightly) old dog new tricks. The basic bread recipe takes 50 pages (!) but the detail it provides gives almost infallible results.

If I say it’s the best bread I’ve ever tasted mum (who sent me off to school with home-made bread every day) will never speak to me again. So I’m not going to say it. What I will say is, if you’re even slightly interested in making bread, you need (knead?) this book.

4 Responses to “The tiny breadmaker”

  1. justsomestuffimade October 18, 2011 at 1:25 pm #

    Too cute 😉
    But that bread tastes *good*…. Rx

  2. Getting Over Baxter October 23, 2011 at 7:39 pm #

    Rosee, I challenge you, Storm and Al to a pumpkin-carving competition this week – bearing in mind that I’m officially unemployed, so can dedicate the next five days to practising, I fancy my chances!

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Pumpkin Carving Challenge… « Nana taught me how - October 26, 2011

    […] My good friend Abby laid down the pumpkin-carving gauntlet after my last post about bread-making. […]

Leave a Reply

