Pumpkin Carving Challenge…

26 Oct

My good friend Abby laid down the pumpkin-carving gauntlet after my last post about bread-making.

Well, never one to shy away from a challenge, I ordered my £1 carving pumpkin from Asda (BARGAIN) and set to.


Al and Storm were my instructors, Googling tips for me (plenty online and I’m not giving Abby any help!) and finding me a Hello Kitty-esque design to work on. Ta da!

The not-so-secret forager in me couldn’t resist saving the seeds, which I washed, tossed in olive oil and salt, and roasted on a v low heat while I whittled away. They taste like popcorn, nom, nom nom.

p20111026-153509

The bits of pumpkin I managed to salvage went into our weekly roast too. Bonus.

Best of all, Storm thought it was the coolest thing ever. It’ll go on our outside window sill to welcome the trick or treaters on Monday night. I want to make another one already!

Over to you Yabba Dabba…

4 Responses to “Pumpkin Carving Challenge…”

  1. Rhian October 26, 2011 at 8:35 pm #

    Ooh I love pumpkin seeds, we have them over pasta dishes quite often.

    When we moved to Bath we had a Halloween housewarming party which involved a fair amount of pumpkin carving, lots of fun!

    Not sure if these links will work… http://bit.ly/uzuuAk http://bit.ly/rQdYLi

  2. Abby Ray October 26, 2011 at 9:27 pm #

    Did I mention how competitive I am…..? I consider the gauntlet well and truly thrown down….

  3. justsomestuffimade October 27, 2011 at 1:56 pm #

    Looks fab! I will promise not to come around on Monday and be a trickster 😉
    Rx

Leave a Reply

