Postcard from Cornwall

9 Nov

We got back yesterday to my favourite place in the world (Bristol) after a few restful days in my second favourite place in the world – Cornwall. Or Kernow, as it should be known.

We stayed at The College in Week St Mary at the very generous invitation of a good friend. And it was lovely.

IMG_5868
IMG_5850

We rocked our country best…

IMG_5810

Saw Merlin’s Cave at Tintagel – that place is spooky!

IMG_5824
IMG_5844
IMG_5841

Tackled killer hills!

IMG_5816

Ate like kings (yes, indeedy, marshmallows on the fire)

IMG_5991
IMG_5999

And ventured onto the beach, and in Storm’s and my case into the sea at Bude! (I swear they are plotting in this picture…)

IMG_5952

After much Monkees style wave-chasing in the winter sun, I got lulled into a false sense of security… There are no words to describe how cold I got when I had to scoop my crazy daughter out of the waves (she was lying down in the shallows pretending to swim) and clasp her tight to stop her leaping back in. Her puffy, sodden winter coat had acted like a giant icy sponge in the sea, which squeezed out all over me, soaking me from neck to knee with freezing water. It was so so cold – and also one of the funniest moments of my life.

IMG_5943

Sadly there are no pics as Al was laughing too hard to take any. Here they are at the beach cafe anyway, just after our awfully wet adventure. I’d cleverly brought a change of clothes for Storm, but not for me…

IMG_5964
IMG_5963

Even with my unexpected soaking, it was exactly what we all needed, so thank you Abby and Steven for sharing your weekend with us. It was just marvellous.

Perhaps you’ve noticed a lack of knitting posts here of late. I have had RSI for the last month, so I haven’t been able to knit much. But slowly, slowly, my powers are returning. Stand by for more on that very soon…

2 Responses to “Postcard from Cornwall”

  1. craftymum2be November 16, 2011 at 3:28 pm #

    Hi Rosee, love your blog. You may remember me from a knitting class you taught not so very long ago!
    I have to say Cornwall is one of my all time favourites – you might want to check out my blog post on Polperro….. just saying!

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Don’t go chasing waterfalls… | Getting Over Baxter - November 15, 2011

    […] around in your underpants most of the time thanks to blistering sunshine! I took my friends Rosee, Al, Steven and little baby Storm to The College – a Landmark Trust property in Cornwall for a […]

Leave a Reply

