Vintage tartan for a steal

30 Nov

I do love a charity shop bargain, but this may just be my find of the year – a length of proper tartan which dates from about 1969 I think, found in pristine condition at St Peter’s Hospice (our local shop are celebrating their 30th anniversary today. Happy birthday lovelies!)

IMG_6258

I’ve seen skirt lengths like this before, but this is the first one I felt compelled to buy, as it was a mere £1.25. Which is an absolute steal for about 1.4m of good quality wool cloth.

IMG_6262

As stated on the nifty hanger label, it includes a leaflet about a making up service for ‘ladies who do not make their own skirts’ (shock horror). You can have a fully lined skirt tailored to your specific measurements, for £2.25. Something tells me that leaflet’s not going to work any more…

IMG_6260
IMG_6266

There is also a form to join a sewing club inside. These are making a resurgence these days, which is a marvellous thing.

IMG_6268

I suspect this bit of Old Mcdonald tartan will become a cushion cover rather than a skirt, as it’s not quite enough to make a kilt (as I’d originally hoped) – I wouldn’t be able to get enough pleats out of it. But given that it’s immaculate after 40 years it should last a good while.

IMG_6256

I’ve been a bit obsessed with tartan recently, and have been experimenting with weaving on a small loom – my scarf (below left) is the result, but I’m going to try for something a bit more authentic next time. Och aye, indeed.

IMG_6255

While I was shooting this, Storm managed to crawl under the bed and get herself stuck, so I had to break off to extricate her…

IMG_6270

Stand by tomorrow for the first of lots of lovely festive posts! Yes, it’s nearly time to say the C word!

4 Responses to “Vintage tartan for a steal”

  1. Jan Marriott November 30, 2011 at 8:15 pm #

    I LIKE THE LABELS JUST AS MUCH AS THE FABRIC

  2. Getting Over Baxter November 30, 2011 at 9:20 pm #

    I am SO ready for the C word!!

  3. Mim December 1, 2011 at 12:17 am #

    *Has fabric envy* I look forward to seeing what you do with it.

  4. Ruth S December 1, 2011 at 10:41 pm #

    Och Emm Geee! Lush find 😉 And your scarf is fan-tab-ulous! Rx
    PS. Hope Storm made a safe exit

Leave a Reply

