Homemade Christmas countdown!

1 Dec

IMG_0763
OK, it’s officially December, so at last I am allowed to say the C word. Hurrah!

Last Christmas was the best I’ve had since I was a kid. Because I got to see it through the eyes of my then 2 and a half year old daughter. It was the first Christmas she really started to register what was going on and it reminded me how much fun it is supposed to be. Hurrah!

The fairy outfit and Russian dolls she got on Christmas morning probably helped get things going…

IMG_0655

IMG_0695

And there was a lot of festive baking to be done too.

IMG_0574

This year I suspect will be the last before we get the many years of sleepless Christmas Eves, so we are going to treasure every single speck of it.

I’ve been making and giving homemade presents at Christmas since I was a teenager. It started at uni when I had no money, and each year I make more and buy less. The trick is finding pressies that don’t take weeks to create (unless you have oodles of spare time) – otherwise you are swapping the stress of The Shops with sitting up ’til 2am on Christmas Eve finishing socks (been there).

I can’t talk about all of what I’m up to as some of the intended recipients read this blog, but there will definitely be chutney, jam, scarves, biscuits, cakes and more. I’ll talk you through as much of it as I can.

I’ve also got some decorations to sew for the tree, so over the next few weeks, I’ll occasionally pop up with one of those too. There are some great festive makes out there in the interwebs, and Christmas is all about giving, so why not try these for a start…

Candy Cane playdough

Cookie Cutter ornaments

Fabric ‘paper’ chains

OK, let the countdown begin!

4 Responses to “Homemade Christmas countdown!”

  1. Linda December 2, 2011 at 7:25 am #

    Your daughter is precious! I hope you have a wonderful holiday season with your family. I love that you are making so many presents and hope that you, too, get some hand-crafted treasures.

  2. annie December 4, 2011 at 4:11 pm #

    I am sticking to only a couple of homemade gifts this year, it takes so long for me. I also started making stuff for people because I was too poor to buy them gifts. it is amazing what that will do for your crafty ability.

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. On the first day of Christmas | craftymum2be - December 1, 2011

    […] and inspiration and you can find some other homemade Christmas ideas on Rosee Woodland’s blog Nana Taught Me How. Until then, I shall leave you with a picture of Ethan in his Christmas elf knitwear! Happy […]

  2. O’ Christmas tree! « Nana taught me how - December 17, 2011

    […] for the lack of posts this week. I have been poorly and so I had to put the Christmas countdown on hold while I was busy feeling very sorry for myself and distinctly […]

Leave a Reply

