Homemade tree ornaments: The Mitten

3 Dec

IMG_6288

I love making Christmas decorations. Last year our tree got three lovely sparkly pine cones, which Storm made at playgroup. So sweet!

You just spread a dab of PVA glue on your pinecone, sprinkle it with glitter and leave to dry on a radiator, before tying a bit of ribbon on for hanging it up with.

This year I’m having a go at some of Alicia Paulson’s lovely felt ornaments. Alicia is the author of Posie Gets Cozy, one of a handful of blogs I read religiously. She’s not exactly a secret on the interwebs, but if you’ve never looked at her blog before, I urge you to check out her stunning photographs, and delightful patterns for cross stitch, quilts, crochet, knitting and, well, these.
IMG_6318

The mitten is part of her Snow Day ornament set. I bought the PDF pattern, not the kit, as it seemed a bit crazy to have teeny bits of felt flown half way round the world (and it was way cheaper!).

You baste some waste canvas to a piece of grey felt, stitch the design and then soak the piece, which will soften the canvas and allow you to tweezer it out, strand by strand, leaving the grey felt adorned with the neat cross stitches. (This is the back, by the way!)

IMG_6312

I spent all my evenings at the weekend stitching the snowflake ‘front’ of the mitt. The other side is simpler and I’m hoping will be done in a couple of evenings.

I’ve also made the polar bear. He’s a bit harder to photograph, due to being bright white (my lens isn’t good enough to go closer) but you hopefully get the idea! I particularly love his mini knitted scarf.

IMG_6291

If you’re making Christmas ornaments do tell!Β I’d love to see what you’re up to…

5 Responses to “Homemade tree ornaments: The Mitten”

  1. Ruth S December 5, 2011 at 9:57 pm #

    Alicia’s ornament designs are all adorable – I love that you’re making them. They’ll be perfect with the shimmery pinecones πŸ˜‰
    Rx

  2. Alicia P. January 25, 2012 at 4:52 pm #

    Oh FANTASTIC! πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚
    (Sorry about the Aunt Alicia on my last comment — I forgot to change it after I commented on my niece’s blog — hee hee!)

    • Rosee Woodland January 25, 2012 at 5:44 pm #

      Haha. You will always be Aunt Alicia to me now πŸ˜‰ Thanks for the lovely comments! Looking forward to the cross stitch sampler next…

  3. Martha August 31, 2012 at 1:11 pm #

    Hi! A “hello” from a passing by cross stitcher fellow πŸ™‚
    thank you for sharing the link to the Scandinavian pattern. I’m Scandi-obsessed so I’ll be buying it very soon!
    Your blog is beautiful. Love the photos and the projects you make.
    I added you to my blog list.

    • Rosee Woodland September 26, 2012 at 7:55 pm #

      Thanks so much! I’ve been super busy and so not posting as much lately, but I do enjoy it!

Leave a Reply

