O’ Christmas tree!

17 Dec

Sorry for the lack of posts this week. I have been poorly and so I had to put the Christmas countdown on hold while I was busy feeling very sorry for myself and distinctly unChristmassy.

No more! Yes, I still feel rather rubbish, but we dragged ourselves out of the house today to get our tree, and I am really glad we made the effort.

IMG_6467

Our tree was from the brilliant Riverside Garden Centre (playground, lovely cafe, friendly knowledgeable staff, and lots of little extras, like a working beehive and bird spotting area).

I love Scandinavian red and white, so perhaps our tree is a little cliched and twee, but I love it!

IMG_6486

IMG_6499

IMG_6489

Our live tree from last year is looking a bit poorly, so I thought I’d give it this Christmas off so we got a traditional cut Norwegian spruce instead. Part of me wishes we had an artificial one, so that we could put it up much earlier, but it wouldn’t be the same.

I also thought you might like to see Storm’s Christmas throne. I don’t really like tinsel, but I know kiddies do, so…

IMG_6517
 

The garland is based on the Peppermint Hearts Garland in Alicia Paulson’s first book Stitched In Time. Storm’s face was an absolute picture when she saw it for the first time! Heck, we can’t have everything uber-tasteful now, can we?!

 

2 Responses to “O’ Christmas tree!”

  1. hannah December 17, 2011 at 9:34 pm #

    this is very very beautiful especially the throne! I thought the plan was to not be poorly? let me know if you need a hot toddy.

  2. Rosee Woodland December 20, 2011 at 11:05 pm #

    Bless you Hannah! I am on the mend now, but very glad today was my last day in the office! The throne was an idea totally nicked off India Knight’s Thrift Book, I think. A nice read for Christmas crafting!

Leave a Reply

