Tying up old threads

6 Jan

Is that a phrase? Anyway, it seems suitable. After starting this counted cross stitch sampler way back in April last year (!) it lay, like many of my projects, almost finished bar a couple of evenings work for ooo, eight months…

IMG_6704

Happily a recent foray into sewing with Storm reminded me that I really do like embroidery, (which surprised me when I first tried it again after a 30 year break since giant cross stitch in infant school). So out of the bag it came, and yep, a couple of evenings and it was done.

IMG_6697

The design is from Alicia Paulson’s lovely book The Embroidery Companion and the finished piece will go in Storm’s room. She’s got a thing about rabbits and her room is blue, so that’s perfect. An Easter present perhaps?

I enjoyed finishing it so much I started another project from the same book immediately. It’s in blackwork, a style of embroidery made popular by Catherine of Aragon.

I’ll show that to you soon, but in the meantime, I need to toddle off and press and frame this piece of loveliness before it languishes in a bag for another year!

4 Responses to “Tying up old threads”

  1. Sarah January 6, 2012 at 8:42 am #

    Beautiful!!

  2. justsomestuffimade January 6, 2012 at 11:47 am #

    Great to see it finished Rosee – you made better progress than me with my big panda cross stitch which is still unfinished!!
    Rx

  3. Aunt Alicia January 25, 2012 at 4:50 pm #

    Oh, I love it in blue. You did a great job. (And in all honesty, this was my favorite x-stitch project in the book so I’m so happy someone else made it too — thank you!) xo, a

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Experiments in stitching: Blackwork « Nana taught me how - January 11, 2012

    […] by finishing my first ‘proper’ cross stitch sampler last week I’ve embarked on something more ambitious – blackwork […]

Leave a Reply

