Mmmmmmmm… Saturday Treat: Almond Comfit hat by Ysolda Teague

28 Jan

I am such a sucker for knitting patterns. When I went on my yarn diet (well, fast really) this year I seriously considered giving up buying patterns too. But hey, one step at a time.

So I’ve just indulged in Ysolda Teague‘s new Saturday Treat collection. It’s a small, but beautifully formed group of patterns with Fyberspates popular Scrumptious yarn, a silk/ merino mix.

Saturday treats for me definitely include seeing my family, going for walks, eating scrummy food, and knitting something non-work related.

Sometimes we go to Treasure Island Sweets in Bristol’s amazing St Nick’s Market, to stock up on Sherbert Fountains, Caramac bars and Liquorice Allsorts.

For my calorie-free goodie this weekend I picked Almond Comfit, a sweet hat design with an unusual construction. You start with the pretty leaf motif at the front and then increase at the sides until it’s wide enough, then decrease towards the back. Very clever.

IMG_6808

I’m making it in one of the signature colours Ysolda picked for Fyberspates to complement her patterns – Empire Biscuit, a lovely fresh red which is available in aran weight.

The full yarn collection is made up of six colours, each with a sweet name (Dandelion & Burdock, Flying Saucer, Sugar Mouse). There are two new colours each for Scrumptious Lace, Sport and Aran.

On a professional note, you can read more about Ysolda’s collaboration with Fyberspates in the next issue of The Knitter, which comes out on February 25.

But in the meantime, it’s the weekend, so it’s time to get some knitting hours in! What’s your Saturday treat?

3 Responses to “Mmmmmmmm… Saturday Treat: Almond Comfit hat by Ysolda Teague”

  1. alleybeth January 28, 2012 at 3:17 pm #

    Mmmm… that yarn looks scrumptious and I am thoroughly intrigued by the construction of the hat.

    I don’t get to do it often anymore, but my Saturday treat has always been going with my family to get breakfast at one of our local joints.

  2. Rosee Woodland January 28, 2012 at 11:48 pm #

    Oooo, breakfast out. I love that! We had our wedding reception at a place that does amazing brunches, so we go back sometimes and get spoilt rotten 😀
    We did go get sweets today in the end, including a giant lollipop for my little girl, and smoothies from the juice bar (to try to cancel out the sweets!)
    .

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. I finished the hat… « Nana taught me how - February 2, 2012

    […] only took me a few evenings (aran weight + mostly stocking stitch =  speedy gonzales). Friday, Saturday, Sunday and it was […]

Leave a Reply

