Daisychain Sampler: Ambitious embroidery

30 Jan

Embroidery and cross stitch seem to be my ‘new thing’ at the moment. It’s great to have another craft I can do in front of a film besides knitting and crochet – I love sewing, but my machine takes a little while to set up, which tends to put me off.

IMG_6842

These new hobbies are also really helpful when I have RSI, as it’s usually my left hand which plays up, so I can still stitch, as long as I rest my arm on a pillow.

Until I tried embroidery again, after not doing it since infant school, I didn’t ‘get it’ at all. While I could appreciate the skill involved, and the end product, I couldn’t possibly see how it could be enjoyable at all. Ha! What do I know?!

This Daisychain Sampler by Alicia Paulson is my biggest project to date. I meticulously traced the design with an iron-n transfer pencil, using the ‘tape it to the window on a sunny day’ technique, which worked great (although I had to turn the heating off as the radiator under the window -it was sunny, but freezing cold – was griddling my tum!)

IMG_6813
I didn’t do such a brilliant job of transferring the pattern from the tracing paper onto the cloth –  a few of the letters got blurred where I pulled the fabric when I moved the iron. But it’s probably not bad for a first attempt, and I can stitch over the double lines I think.

IMG_6844

IMG_6846

I’m using some lovely lilac linen and embroidery thread, rather than crewel wool, as I wanted the finish to be quite smooth and sheeny. It’ll go in Storm’s bedroom when it’s done. I plan to make it a present for when she starts school in September (eep!) to help her with her ABCs.

So I need to stitch a letter a week I think. Let’s see how that goes! Just ignore my track record on unfinished objects please. Ahem.

I have made quite a few of Alicia’s projects, so there’s a little Posie Gets Cozy archive here, if you like her stuff. Personally, I think she’s fab!

4 Responses to “Daisychain Sampler: Ambitious embroidery”

  1. alleybeth January 30, 2012 at 10:31 pm #

    I love that design. I haven’t embroidered in a long while, but I’m thinking I may have to pick it back up again. I would also like to take up cross-stitching again, I have all of the supplies, so I have no excuse.

    I can’t wait to see how this turns out, I love the color palette you’re using!

  2. Rosee Woodland January 30, 2012 at 11:02 pm #

    Thanks! It’s such a pretty design. I am now half way through ‘A’ and must go to bed, but it’s terribly addictive!

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Mini book review: Jane Austen’s Sewing Box « Nana taught me how - February 6, 2012

    […] have just embarked on my most ambitious embroidery project to date, and my stitching skills are woeful compared to what would have been seen as […]

  2. Back to school sampler « Nana taught me how - May 14, 2012

    […] already started one alphabet sampler, but I’m also making her a cross stitch one, which I’m enjoying more, basically because […]

Leave a Reply

