Secret birthday project #3: Storm’s new dress

29 Feb

IMG_7239

Being almost four years old is pretty tough when it’s someone else’s birthday.

My brothers share the same birth date, but were born two years apart, and I know it was often hard on them to have to share that special day whrn they were little. But even worse when it’s not your birthday AT ALL, but someone else’s.

With my dad’s 65th luncheon, and one of Storm’s little friends’ birthday parties the day after, I knew my wee girl might find last weekend tough, so I made her a special dress to wear to both events.

IMG_7235
It’s from Jennifer Paganelli’s (of Sis Boom fabrics) wonderful Girl’s World pattern book, which is a mini treasure trove of girly treats – dresses, flowery hairbands, bags, and banners.

Storm got the first dress in the book – Mary’s Sash Dress, made up in an Amy Butler Love print I bought as a 2m remnant from Get Knitted a while ago. She picked it out of my fabric stash one afternoon, half-wrapped it around her and asked me to ‘knit her’ a dress with it. I was surprised she chose such a bold (non-pink) print but I jumped at the chance.

I used up almost all the fabric (the skirt is suitably twirly, and the sash is v extravagant), and added some pom-pom trim, just for fun. It was lovely seeing her dressed up all weekend, and every stitch filled me with joy.

IMG_7219

If you’re new to sewing, this book is great, as the patterns are really simple and every single step is explained.

The dress took me a couple of evenings and I’ve already lined up the fabric for Storm’s birthday dress in June. Hopefully, that won’t be quite so much of a consolation prize…

Here she is in the sandpit at Sunday’s party. Heck, I didn’t say she had to save it for best now, did I?!

IMG_7209

5 Responses to “Secret birthday project #3: Storm’s new dress”

  1. Violeta Llano February 29, 2012 at 7:54 pm #

    Wow that is beautiful! I want one!

    • Rosee Woodland February 29, 2012 at 8:24 pm #

      Thanks! She does look sweet in it. Will add a pic to the post when I remember 😀

  2. Sara March 2, 2012 at 7:16 am #

    That is such a beautiful dress.

  3. birdface March 2, 2012 at 4:55 pm #

    er, can you make me one pls?

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Tallulah Pattern Review – the Jubilee Dress « Nana taught me how - May 24, 2012

    […] is a very simple dress, and I really like the shape of it. Like the Mary’s Sash Dress from the same book, the pieces all seemed to fit well, although the front piece was longer than the […]

Leave a Reply

