One hour project: Clothkits apple doorstop

8 Mar

Ooo, hello Clothkits. What a blast from the past!

IMG_7093

As a child I was usually dressed in either:

a) Something my mother had sewn

b) Something my aunt had designed

c) Something from a jumble sale

d) Something from Clothkits, which my mother had sewn

Once my mum made me a dress by tracing a Clothkits pattern onto an old curtain she’d got from a jumble sale for about 15p, thus fulfilling options a), c) and d) all in one garment.

Clothkits died a death in the 80s, but it’s back. BACK! And just as brilliant.

It now has yummy artists like Rob Ryan, Emily Peacock, and Echino Designs (lovely Japanese fabric designer) on board, and has revived some old favourites (I think my brother had this coat) and created some new classics.

Anyway, when I saw their stand at Ally Pally in the autumn I couldn’t resist one of their lovely apple doorstops (minimalism alert – we actually did need a second doorstop in addition to The Squirrel). Especially as they were just £5 (show offer – nice!).

IMG_7095

Of course, the kit has since languished in a cupboard for a few months, but when I finally got it out to make it took me less than an hour from start to finish. Great for a present.

Foolishly I forgot to trace the pieces before I cut them, (the nice lady on the Clothkits stand told me everyone does this) but actually the pattern is very simple – four triangles with the point chopped off, a square for the bottom, and a handle.

And, oooo, that lovely Clothkits babycord. Such great fabric (iron it upside down to avoid squashing it).

IMG_7097

Clothkits, welcome back (OK, I know it’s been a few years). You guys rock!

IMG_7324

4 Responses to “One hour project: Clothkits apple doorstop”

  1. Alison March 8, 2012 at 3:19 pm #

    Ohh, dear… I’m pretty sure I didn’t need to know that Clothkits is back. This could be dangerous. Very, very dangerous indeed…

    (I’m pretty smitten with the bustle skirts right now…)

    • Rosee Woodland March 10, 2012 at 8:24 am #

      I know! I have such a great memory of Clothkits – it is lovely to have them back but dangerous for the wallet!

  2. Curvyjax March 9, 2012 at 7:43 pm #

    Our lives seem to be running on parallel tracks just now – I was going to write a blog post about how I never iron clothes, but iron EVERYTHING when I sew, then I read yours. And I happen to know that I am getting a Clothkits skirt kit for my birthday next week. I know this cos I have lusted after them for a couple of years, and emailed the link to my mother in law! The doorstop looks great – I love their prints. Good to know it’s so quick to make.

    • Rosee Woodland March 10, 2012 at 8:25 am #

      Weird! I have got the pattern for the bustle skirt from an old issue of Sew Hip, so it’s on my (v long) to do list…

Leave a Reply

