Poorly girl dress: Oliver + S Puppet Show pattern review

21 Mar

Oh hello! Long time no speak! Sorry for my rather extended absence. Storm has had croup, which was Not Good, but luckily she wasn’t poorly for too long.

Anyway, to cheer up my poorly girl I made her a dress. It’s the longer version of the tunic from Oliver + S Puppet Show pattern and I am very pleased with it.

IMG_7391

I’ve not used one of their designs before, and I was pretty impressed. Quite a few of the markings on the paper pattern weren’t mentioned in the instructions, but I could figure out what they were for so, no matter.

IMG_7389

The finished result is very neat (OK, neat for me) and I love the collar especially. I used some polka dot Lecien fabric and a smidge of Amy Butler I got as a remnant (I have no idea what it is – sorry).

IMG_7400

The pattern did call for way more fabric than I actually needed, which I found a bit odd, but I am a canny cutter, and I didn’t bother with the bias trim for the edging, opting to cover up my slightly, erm, relaxed hemming with pretty velvet ric-rac instead.

I made the size for a 5 year old. It’s a bit big but she will grow into it (and boy is she growing!)

Ta dah!

IMG_7394

I also have the Oliver + S Jump Rope dress pattern  so that might be next (once I’ve finished a couple of designs for actual work, ahem).

5 Responses to “Poorly girl dress: Oliver + S Puppet Show pattern review”

  1. Jan Marriott March 21, 2012 at 6:46 pm #

    isn’t that too sweet, wish I still had a little girl to make things for.

  2. happymousefairy March 21, 2012 at 8:09 pm #

    What a beautiful dress!

    Croup is scary, I can remember a night in A&E with a very scared 18month old 😦 Hope that Storm is fully recovered and breathing easily again… And that you are too!

  3. Mim March 22, 2012 at 9:09 am #

    I love the way the Amy Butler fabric works so well with the shape of the yoke.

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. I may be gone sometime… « Nana taught me how - April 11, 2012

    […] The first thing I did (OK, the first thing, after wrestling with the bobbin winder and wrangling with the automatic needle threader), was to sew some ‘proper’ one-step buttonholes onto Storm’s Puppet Show dress. […]

Leave a Reply

