And they say never meet your heroes…

23 Mar

I distinctly remember when I was in my early 20s watching Aerosmith’s Steve Tyler on a UK chat show.

Man, I’d always loved that band (yes, I know they are The Cheese). But seeing Tyler on TFI Friday, talking about women in a most unsatisfactory way – though Lord knows what I was expecting, put me Right Off.

And then there was the time I made an absolute fool of myself when I bumped into Noel Fielding (lovely) and Julian Barrat (less so) in Soho Square at the height of Mighty Boosh mania. You don’t need to know more than that.

I’m rambling. But because of the above, I was a little wary about meeting a more recent hero of mine – Jane Brocket.

Jane was on the Mollie Makes stand at the Stitch and Craft show at Olympia, where I was working at my day job for The Knitter. It was a perfect opportunity to say hello and have my copies of her books signed…

IMG_7386

Happily it was third time lucky for me. Not only was Jane absolutely lovely, she told me a little about her next two books, and her plans for some time off after six years of working solidy. Fair enough I think.

I didn’t get a picture with her because, if it were me, I wouldn’t like that at all. But as she was absolutely instrumental in my decision to take a chance on a new kind of career, it was great to pay a little homage, without any actual fawning/ grovelling involved.

While at the show I also finally permitted myself a Moda jelly roll (you can blame Jane for my ever growing quilting obsession)…

IMG_7383

And was also treated to a little yarn freebie by the utterly delightful Martin Storey (thanks Martin!)

IMG_7387

So tell me, who are your heroes?

 

4 Responses to “And they say never meet your heroes…”

  1. Ruth S March 23, 2012 at 6:18 pm #

    Glad you got the chance to meet Jane 😉
    I was lucky enough to get my ‘Gentle Art of Quiltmaking’ book signed when I met her at the Festival of Quilts a couple of years back. Such a lovely & inspiring lady.
    Can’t wait to see what you’ll make with the yummy jelly roll, Rx

    • Rosee Woodland March 23, 2012 at 8:35 pm #

      Oooo, fab! There were some amazing quilts at the show. I will keep you posted on the jelly roll (so very yummy indeed!) xx

  2. Rin Simpson (@RinSimpson) March 27, 2012 at 10:51 am #

    Julia Cameron. She’s the permission every artist (of any kind) needs to pursue their dreams, and The Artist’s Way still helps me focus on what I really want out of my writing, my crafts and my life in general. She’s teaching a one day course in London later this year and I’m really tempted…

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. The eye burn half log cabin quilt « Nana taught me how - May 9, 2012

    […] ages, to make a bright quilt, but didn’t have enough until someone very generously gave me a jelly roll a couple of weeks ago (and that’s on top of the one the girls at work gave me for my birthday […]

Leave a Reply

