Buttons. And a Lisette pattern review (Simplicity 2211)

2 Apr

Do you like buttons? Me, I LOVE me some buttons.

IMG_7422

I am quite restrained when it comes to collecting them. For ages my button collection fitted in an old Altoids tin. There are a few too many now to get in the tin, but I try to keep it reined in.

This week though, was time for a button splurge. After much procrastinating (waaaaaay too much stocking stitch for my liking) I finished my Chickadee cardigan this weekend.

IMG_7417

I’d already lined up some stunning buttons from The Makery Emporium, which has become my go to place for pretty Japanese painted wooden buttons. I bought nine of these large chintzy ones..

IMG_7413

…and also, some tiny ones with tropical looking orange flowers, to decorate a blouse I just finished in time for our mini heatwave.

IMG_7407

The blouse is by Lisette for Simplicity (pattern 2211, view E) and this was a dry run for some Liberty Tana Lawn which was too perfect to risk on a first attempt. It’s just as well I did the dry run – I managed to sew the collar on inside out (duh) and had to cut it off and bodge the neckline.

And then the sleeves turned out to be smaller than the armholes, which made it kind of hard to gather them in, as per the pattern – definitely a grading error as I followed all the seam allowances exactly. Luckily my lovely repro feedsack fabric was 130cm wide, not the standard 115cm, which meant I had a little spare, so I recut a new pair of sleeves two sizes larger and used those.

Voila…

IMG_7404

Shame about the ‘wasted’ fabric. It’ll go into a quilt one day. The blouse only needs a metre of 150cm wide fabric if you fancy making it (a little more if you use quilting width).

I do have some glorious vintage glass buttons, which I bought at the first Knit Nation. They are from L Nichols, a company set up by the daughter of buttonmaker Lionel Nichols to sell off her huge collection of buttons he made in his lifetime. She releases them in collections a couple of times a year. Each set is totally unique and priced accordingly. Ahem.

IMG_9487

Nearly two years on, they still haven’t found their perfect project. They nearly went on the feedsack shirt, but it just wasn’t quite right.

Their time will come…

8 Responses to “Buttons. And a Lisette pattern review (Simplicity 2211)”

  1. Mim April 2, 2012 at 8:09 am #

    I have serious button envy now – those Nicholls ones are lovely.

    Your blouse and cardigan look great, and I can imagine you in them now. 🙂 I look forward to seeing them in reality.

  2. stirandstitch April 2, 2012 at 1:10 pm #

    i love chickadees! your cardi is adorable and the colours are so fun.
    i have a liberty blouse planned, too, though have yet to make my ‘dry run’ with something less expensive. seeing yours has motivated me to get started. yay!

  3. Rin Simpson (@RinSimpson) April 4, 2012 at 9:19 am #

    Oooooh, the colours on that cardi are to die for! And like Mim, I have serious button envy now (although my stash is rather less restrained than yours, so I really ought not to buy any more…)

  4. didyoumakethat April 18, 2012 at 12:51 pm #

    That is one of the most beautiful handknitted cardigans I’ve seen in a long time. And the blouse is so beautiful, also! I have that pattern. You’ve inspired me on two counts. Thank you!

    • Rosee Woodland April 18, 2012 at 4:04 pm #

      Why thank you! It was something of a labour of love (the cardigan, haha). The blouse was super speedy – great for something to whip up when it suddenly gets hot!

  5. RMarshall April 26, 2012 at 4:06 pm #

    Hello Rosee!

    This blog post was featured on Simplicity”s Facebook page. I will include the link to the page so you can have a look. Please invite your followers to see your post on our page. I hope you continue doing wonderful work and include New Look into your designs.

    http://www.facebook.com/#!/simplicitypatterns?filter=1

    • Rosee Woodland April 29, 2012 at 11:06 pm #

      Thanks for the link! I have some great patterns in my ‘to do’ pile so stay tuned!

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Lovely Easter things « Nana taught me how - April 8, 2012

    […] smidge of Tilda fabric remnant for another pass at Simplicity 2211, which I treated myself to yesterday at  Get Knitted (where we also had lots of delish cakes […]

Leave a Reply

