Lovely Easter things

8 Apr

Ooooo, it’s my birthday today. Hurrah! I must confess though, I’m not brilliant at celebrating my ‘big day’. It often falls around Easter, when people are on  holiday or with their families so in recent years I’ve gotten a bit half-hearted when it comes to rallying the troops for a big shin-dig.

Still, I can always enjoy the little things that make a birthday special. This year, its combination with Easter Sunday has meant lots of warnings in advance not to eat ‘too much chocolate’. When did we ever start worrying about that?!

My own indulgences are pretty simple. Some lovely flowers from the fantastico ladies at The Knitter and Simply Knitting (I am very lucky to work with such delightful, generous people)…

IMG_7453

A smidge of Tilda fabric remnant for another pass at Simplicity 2211, which I treated myself to yesterday at  Get Knitted (where we also had lots of delish cakes courtesy of Kat, whose birthday is tomorrow. Happy birthday Kat!).

IMG_7446

Buttons which came with the new issue of Mollie Makes that arrived yesterday. Mollie has great taste, and perfect timing…

IMG_7443

(And they match the fabric uncannily – although my camera seems to be implying otherwise – weird).

IMG_7447

‘Proper’ chocolate from the husband, who knows me too well by now (today is also our sixth wedding anniversary). This has candied orange peel in it. Yum.

IMG_7449

And a gorgeous vintage tin, which I plan to line to use for sewing kit.

IMG_7450

I’ve also had some lovely cards, and a beautiful fig candle from my dear friend Jo. Top work!

You may notice that this doesn’t seem like a lot of ‘stuff’ and that’s how I like it. My big present is, quite amazingly, a new sewing machine, which my lovely family have clubbed together to buy me, and should arrive on Tuesday.

I will be sorry to say goodbye to my old machine, which is pretty much the same age as me, and is starting to look a bit tired (no jokes please). I feel very disloyal getting rid of it, but, while it is perfectly functional as a basic machine, it has a lot of things that don’t work any more, and it also weighs about 50lb.

As well as sharing my birthday with our wedding anniversary, I’m sharing it with a celebration of all things chocolate, which makes it a little easier to keep the small person cheery when I’m being spoilt. I do hope you’re having a lovely time too! Happy Easter!

IMG_7436

5 Responses to “Lovely Easter things”

  1. Sara April 8, 2012 at 4:25 pm #

    Many happy wishes on your birthday, anniversary, Easter and the impending excitement of a new machine.

    • Rosee Woodland April 8, 2012 at 9:13 pm #

      Thanks! The new machine is particularly exciting, but it has been lovely just to have a chilled family day

  2. Maureen Frankcom April 9, 2012 at 10:15 am #

    Happy (Belated) lovely events in your life just now.

    My birthday is later in the month and like you it can fall on Easter (not that I’m complaining)

    Enjoy your Chocolate, coffee is my all time favourite flavour choccie.

    Maura

  3. Rin Simpson (@RinSimpson) April 10, 2012 at 11:07 am #

    Happy birthday for Sunday! Sounds like you had an awesome time 🙂

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. The eye burn half log cabin quilt « Nana taught me how - May 9, 2012

    […] roll a couple of weeks ago (and that’s on top of the one the girls at work gave me for my birthday – I mean, are they like buses or […]

Leave a Reply

