I may be gone sometime…

11 Apr

IMG_7461

Now I’ve written this title, I’m wondering whether alluding to the last known words of a fearless explorer facing certain death is entirely in good taste. Ah well.

Anyway, I have taken possession of The Sewing Machine (hurrah!) so forgive me if I hibernate a little.

I combined the trip with a 2 hour visit to Bath’s amazing Victoria Park playground to keep the wee girl happy, so I didn’t feel too guilty when I then carted her along to Husqvarna Studio to pick up my Janome XL601, complete with add-on quilting package (swoon).

The first thing I did (OK, the first thing, after wrestling with the bobbin winder and wrangling with the automatic needle threader), was to sew some ‘proper’ one-step buttonholes onto Storm’s Puppet Show dress.

I practised a lot first, which was just as well. Ahem. The best bit was when I tried to start a buttonhole with the feeddogs down, thus zig-zagging on the spot for several seconds before realisation hit, which led to me having to practically cut out the bobbin. Duh.

IMG_7462

I got the hang of it in the end. They aren’t perfect, but a damn sight quicker, and neater than any I’ve sewn by hand.

IMG_7467

The Machine is not top of the range by any stretch, but it has a few cute embroidery stitches, and I particularly like the one you can use to create a scalloped hem. Sweet!

IMG_7458

I feel nervous about getting rid of my old heavy-duty machine, which mum taught me to sew on, and I’ve had about 20 years. But I suspect a minimalist is not allowed two sewing machines by any stretch. Uh oh.

4 Responses to “I may be gone sometime…”

  1. justsomestuffimade April 11, 2012 at 8:46 pm #

    Yay for the new machine and your fabby new stitches 😉 Enjoy it! Rx

  2. DyeVerse April 13, 2012 at 4:35 pm #

    How inspirational – fantastic. One thing though – when I bought my new machine last year, I was very anxious to discard the old one, but found it had a second life and came into its own when needing to do embellishments and things on difficult fabrics. It didn’t muck up my “new” machine…if that makes sense.
    Best wishes
    Shani

  3. melonby April 18, 2012 at 12:40 pm #

    Hi! I thought I’d nominate you for a “Versatile Blogger Award” on account of your blog being pretty great – I hope you’ll accept.

    I’ve put all the details up here: http://apileofsheep.wordpress.com/2012/04/18/versatile-blogger-award/

    • Rosee Woodland April 18, 2012 at 4:03 pm #

      Wow – thanks so much – that’s really lovely of you! I will go check it out 😀

Leave a Reply

