The eye burn half log cabin quilt

9 May

Oh hai.

IMG_7509

Yeah, I know. The last month was my first long absence since starting this blog. It all started when I trod on my camera card reader. Whoops…

IMG_7524

But then a bunch of stuff happened and I lost my mojo to be honest. Work was crazy, I got ill, Storm kept getting ill, a relative turned out to have cancer, and then an old friend died. I haven’t smiled quite as much as normal lately.

But! No more! Time to get the mojo back. Today is my friend’s wake, and I’ve been feeling, well, sad and weird, as you would.

So I decided today was also time for a new quilt.

IMG_7514

You know how there are things you want to do, but are scared to do them? This quilt was one of them. It’s BRIGHT. But, my now departed friend taught me some good lessons in the 13 years I knew her, and one of them was to go for what you want in life and not be afraid. She was pretty amazing that way.

A quilt might not seem like something you should be afraid of, but I’ve not done much more than sew squares together so far, so tackling a more complex method, with a heritage going back probably centuries, feels like a big step.

IMG_7519

And then there are those colours. I’ve been stockpiling fabrics and scraps for ages, to make a bright quilt, but didn’t have enough until someone very generously gave me a jelly roll a couple of weeks ago (and that’s on top of the one the girls at work gave me for my birthday – I mean, are they like buses or something?).

IMG_7517

It’s made up of fabric from Amy Butler’s Soul Blossoms range, which I was a bit over, to be honest, but cut into two and a half inch strips I like it much better, as it’s all about the impact of the colours and less about those very iconic patterns.

IMG_7516

This morning was also the first I had any time to myself in weeks so I just went for it, and got three and a bit blocks done. I am so excited about how they look.

IMG_7515

As I type, Storm is leaning on my right hand side, warming me to through to my very heart and I’ve just dashed out to grab some chocolate cakes out of the oven I’ve made for her to decorate later.

Slowly, the mojo is returning. I can tell life is going to feel strange and sad for a while yet. But that’s OK.

7 Responses to “The eye burn half log cabin quilt”

  1. Jan Marriott May 9, 2012 at 12:26 pm #

    exciting is the word for those blocks……certainly not shy…

  2. Karen @ Folk Haven May 9, 2012 at 10:30 pm #

    I’m sorry you’ve been going through a rough patch. It’s good when the mojo starts to come back isn’t it? I love the fabrics you’ve chosen for this log cabin!

  3. Rosee Woodland May 9, 2012 at 10:43 pm #

    Thanks guys. I try not to bring the maudlin to the blog but it’s been hard to escape entirely, hence the sabbatical. The wake was as good as a wake can be, without the person walking back through the door and saying ‘See, I fooled you’.
    More sewing tomorrow!

  4. Miss Elle May 10, 2012 at 5:49 am #

    It’s lovely to see you blogging again. Many hugs for the tough times, but this quilt will bring much sunshine to you xxxx

  5. Rin Simpson (@RinSimpson) May 10, 2012 at 10:23 am #

    Glad to have you back Rosee, and I think that absolutely beautiful quilt is just the thing to help you gently return to full mojo status x

  6. justsomestuffimade May 12, 2012 at 1:12 pm #

    Stunning quilt – no eye burn, just happiness.
    Hope your mojo and happier times are well on their way back home, friend, Rx

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Happy New Year! « Nana taught me how - January 1, 2013

    […] The death of one of my oldest friends – in itself a terrible loss, but with some surprising silver […]

Leave a Reply

