Ma’am Mat: New design in The Knitter

12 May

Mat1

Apparently it’s the Queen’s Diamond Jubilee this year. Did you know that? Me either 😉

Anyhoo, to celebrate, I got all patriotic for a little design for The Knitter which is out about now.

Mat5

In the mag it’s known as the Jubilee Placemat, but I would have loved to have been able to call it the Ma’am Mat. As in Ma’amite. Arf.

It’s knitted in Excelana‘s new DK weight yarn which comes in some lovely vintage colours.

I had great fun finding the props for the photoshoot – the mug was my fave (from Cancer Research UK – £3!) and is now residing in my kitchen cupboard, where it has become my ‘mug of choice’. (Minimalism alert – Al managed to break my purple Pantone mug about a week after I bought it so we are on an even keel mug-wise, you’ll be relieved to hear.)

Mat2

The mat is worked flat and then the edging is picked up and worked in the round. It would probably take a couple of evenings to make and uses less than one ball of each colour – you’ll have plenty left of the red and the white, not so much of the blue.

Annoyingly, I brought it home and now can’t find it, so for now I’m stuck admiring these brilliant pictures (styled by Sarah Clark at The Knitter, who is just top at that kind of thing – thanks Sarah!).

Mat3

I suspect on Jubilee weekend itself a lot of peep’s breakfasts won’t be quite as civilised as this one, what with the four day holiday, ahem.

Happy knitting!

6 Responses to “Ma’am Mat: New design in The Knitter”

  1. Jo Garbutt May 12, 2012 at 8:06 pm #

    I love it. x

  2. Chloe kirby May 12, 2012 at 8:37 pm #

    You are so talented!

  3. Sarah May 13, 2012 at 8:56 am #

    And shot and lit perfectly by Phil Sowels, who’s Quite Good at photography. 🙂

  4. justsomestuffimade May 13, 2012 at 10:16 am #

    Fab! Agree on the great styling, Rx

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Tallulah Pattern Review – the Jubilee Dress « Nana taught me how - May 24, 2012

    […] Oh yeah, while I’m here, remember the Ma’am Mat? […]

Leave a Reply

