Pumpkins and yarn: Giveaway

4 Nov

Why hello there!

How was your Halloween? Storm still hasn’t worked out that she can go trick or treating, so we had probably our last year of staying home, pumpkin shining outside, to welcome the neighbourhood ghosties and goulies.

Instead of being dragged around the streets in the pouring rain, we handed out sweets (Storm dressed as a witch) to the small number of kiddos who darkened our door.

Woooooooooo!

Witchy!

During the day Storm had one of her friends around from school, and we got the little ‘uns to draw their idea of a perfect pumpkin, which we then carved out.

Mine was OK I think…

IMG_8669

…but I should have got a pic of the pumpkin wee Frankie’s dad carved. He’s a model sculptor for animation and honestly, I have never seen anything like it!

Anyhoo, as it’s Halloween (well, was) I have a little giveaway of some pumpkin yarn!

The nice peeps at Blue Sky Alpacas are offering the yarn to make one of my Popsicle Shawls

BlueDONKEY3

…in a suitably seasonal colour.

IMG_8563

Normally this yarn Β – yummy Organic Cotton Worsted – comes in hanks. I wound it up to make a third shawl for Mollie Makes, but ran out of time when a deadline moved.

So, rather than hoard it, in the spirit of minimalism, and sharing, I’m giving it away!

For a chance of making it yours, just leave a comment below and I’ll draw a winner at random on November 10.

Happy hauntings!

18 Responses to “Pumpkins and yarn: Giveaway”

  1. Nicola B November 4, 2012 at 6:14 pm #

    We never went trick or treating as children- I am not sure if times have changed and it has become more popular now, or if my parents were just cunning! (I say ‘times have changed’ and made myself sound really old at the grand old age of 26…)
    Love a bit of pumpkin carving, although mine were very tame compared to your effort..
    The yarn looks lovely- although winning it would not help with my downsizing the stash attempt!

  2. georgina November 4, 2012 at 6:14 pm #

    Very good looking witch you have there Rosie and the pumpkin is fun. The highlight for me though is the donkey picture. I hanker after donkeys as well as yarn πŸ™‚

  3. jan November 4, 2012 at 6:24 pm #

    Rainy Halloween here also. The first lot of trick or treaters was a family …..big sister (about 6 or 7) plus her siblings….2 sets of twins!!!.
    Weareleft with about 5 lbs of sweeties.

  4. paulineos November 4, 2012 at 6:40 pm #

    That’s the perfect colour to perk up the grey season we’ve been having so far! By the way, it’s kind of sad when they decide that they’re too old to go trick-or-treating any more, so enjoy it while you can!

  5. Morag Duller November 4, 2012 at 7:03 pm #

    What a brilliant autumn colour yarn to giveaway and a fab pattern to go with it, just right for wearing to Christmas do’s.

  6. stormandateacup November 4, 2012 at 7:44 pm #

    Me me me! Please please please! I reckon I am ready to attempt a Rosee design πŸ™‚

  7. stormandateacup November 4, 2012 at 7:45 pm #

    Me me me please please please! I reckon I am ready to attempt a Rosee design πŸ™‚

  8. Chelsea W November 4, 2012 at 7:48 pm #

    What a nice giveaway! Thanks for the chance πŸ™‚

  9. Miss Elle November 5, 2012 at 7:12 am #

    Hurrah for minimalism! Gorgeous shawl πŸ™‚

  10. Amber Weinberg November 5, 2012 at 10:50 am #

    I would love to make this shawl!!

  11. Kathy S November 6, 2012 at 3:41 am #

    I LOVE the color of this yarn. Thank you for the giveaway!

  12. Sara November 6, 2012 at 7:33 am #

    Harry at 11 still wants to go trick and treating I’m sure purely for the sweet value.

    Loving Storms face painting and loving the colour of the yarn.

  13. nushechka November 7, 2012 at 7:16 am #

    Amazing giveaway! Love this yarn

  14. Vanessa Hubbard November 7, 2012 at 10:49 am #

    Lovely yarn, peaceful Halloween. I used to love trick or treating as a kid. Living in a village meant everyone knew you.

  15. Amy V November 8, 2012 at 4:29 pm #

    I’d love a chance to win this lovely yarn! Thanks for sharing.

  16. Carly November 9, 2012 at 6:32 am #

    That yarn is great! Perfect for fall. πŸ™‚ I have some fall projects to start soon, if I can find all the right yarns that is!

  17. kate p November 9, 2012 at 2:36 pm #

    I LOVE the color πŸ˜‰ Amazing giveaway!
    i can make beautiful things for my girl πŸ˜‰

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. We have a winner! « Nana taught me how - November 21, 2012

    […] to keep it short and sweet, we had 17 lovely entries to the Blue Sky Alpacas yarn giveaway and I’m happy to say that ‘stormandateacup’ (who made the 6th comment) is the […]

Leave a Reply

