New year, new rules, and thanks

13 Jan

I’ve been away from this blog for a year. I didn’t exactly give up. Life just got in the way.

But tonight I logged in again. A friend had suggested I review some kits from my old muckers at The Makery and I realised I actually wanted to.

I checked my stats with trepidation, thinking “well, no one can be reading it now”. Turns out you still are. So thank you for coming back for more, even when there was no more to be had. Maybe I’ll review those kits after all (if they’ll still have me!).

Anyway, while I’m here, I want to tell you about my new year’s resolution.

No diets (fuck the diets), no giving up wine/ chocolate/ cheese/ meat, no taking up running (my heart is willing, my pieced-back-together knees aren’t). I’m still doing the yoga, but that’s a pleasure, not a punishment.

So, something else.

2014 is my year to give. My new job means I now walk past a Big Issue seller every day I go to work. Often I find them intimidating, or strange. But it’s easy to judge people you don’t know. Decide who deserves help (or more usually, doesn’t).

Time to start giving back. So I’m buying the Big Issue every week, and making sure they keep the change. I’m giving more to charity – chances are, if you put an envelope through my door this year asking for money you will receive it.

And I want to be kinder. Gentler. Help people more. Funny thing is, when you help people it makes you feel good. It really is win-win.

You’ll still find me knitting here, and sewing, and crochet, and quilting. I’m not stopping that. But I want to give more. I hope you can join me.

Have a very happy new year.

2 Responses to “New year, new rules, and thanks”

  1. Jan Marriott January 13, 2014 at 1:38 pm #

    welcome back, best for 2014….

  2. ajga@ravelry.com March 3, 2014 at 6:38 am #

    welcome back indeed! I’m into acknowledgement this year, there’s something about letting someone know they really exist and do matter that is contagious. I’m sure some one has already named it as a movement , but it is amazing what showing someone they have been noticed and are impacting someone else’s life that lifts your own. ( also, I know what you mean about diets,) no more lies,

Leave a Reply

